The Center House at Marine Barracks Washington, D.C., photographed March 25, 2025. Today, Center House is known as the Home of the Marine Barracks Washington Commissioned Officers' Mess and is located at the southeastern end of the quadrangle. The landmark's tradition dates back to the origins of the "Oldest Post of the Corps" in 1801 when the original buildings were constructed. Initially serving as bachelor officer quarters, it was referred to as a "Guard or Officer's House" in the center of the MBW, where the Commanding Officer’s quarters now stand. The original structure was destroyed by fire in 1829, rebuilt that same year, and later relocated to its present site in 1907 after the demolition of the original buildings. The name “Center House” is the only element that remains from the original building, preserving its historical significance. (U.S. Marine Corps photo by Lance Cpl. Christopher Prelle)
Date Taken: | 03.25.2025 |
Date Posted: | 03.26.2025 07:32 |
Photo ID: | 8935361 |
VIRIN: | 250325-M-IW482-1072 |
Resolution: | 8192x5464 |
Size: | 4.61 MB |
Location: | WASHINGTON, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, US |
Web Views: | 3 |
Downloads: | 1 |
This work, Marine Barracks Washington Historic Landmark [Image 21 of 21], by LCpl Christopher Prelle, identified by DVIDS, must comply with the restrictions shown on https://www.dvidshub.net/about/copyright.